Who needs the lottery?

My friend thinks I am so lucky; I can find such great bargains at yard sales and thrift shops. Her case in point is the high-end Kitchen Aid gas stove I bought at a yard sale last year for $300. (It works perfectly and is a huge improvement over the previous cheap, chipped and leaking GE model that came with my house.) I do agree with her that the stove is a great find, but that does not mean that I am lucky. It just means I know what I am looking for and am ready when it appears.  

It would be different if I found the stove the first time I ever went to a yard sale. That would be lucky. But I go a lot. So my chance of getting a bargain increases significantly. That is something my friend doesn’t get. I get the feeling she thinks she is doomed to a life of retail because her planets are not aligned right or something. Not so! You gotta go to the thrift stores and yard sales if bargains are what you want. It’s like the lottery – you can’t win if you don’t play.

Leave a Reply

